MP welcomes Marlowe Park surgery contract extension

Local residents and councillors standing up for local services in Strood South

Local residents and councillors standing up for local services in Strood South

Mark Reckless MP has welcomed the news that, following his intervention, the PCT has agreed to offer Dr Juneja a three month extension to keep the popular Marlowe Park Medical Centre in Strood South open beyond 31st March 2012.

Speaking after hearing the news, Mark said;

“I had a further conversation with Dr James Thallon, the PCT medical director, on Wednesday afternoon following a lengthy meeting with him in Tonbridge the previous Wednesday. I am delighted that the Kent and Medway PCT has agreed to offer Dr Juneja this initial three month extension to keep the popular Marlowe Park surgery in Strood open following my intervention. I believe that they are now negotiating in good faith with better mutual understanding.

The PCT and their committed and conscientious medical director James Thallon have really listened to my explanation of Dr Juneja’s exceptional past experience and commitment to his patients in Strood and beyond.

I hope that they will now successfully reach a long term agreement for the surgery. I am grateful to our responsive and relatively accountable PCT and particularly Dr Thallon for listening to me as the MP and to patients and then genuinely reconsidering their decision.”

Responding to the announcement, Dr Juneja from Marlowe Park Medical Centre said:

“I sincerely believe that without the help of Mark Reckless and Cllrs John Avey and Josie Iles that this contract extension, and the step towards discussions, would not have been possible.

I am deeply indebted to Mark, the Councillors, my patients who have not deserted the Practice, and my staff who have hung on. My heartfelt thanks and best wishes.

For his great contribution to the local population, I’ll be on the streets for Mark if he needs me in future to support a just cause. At the same time, I’d like to thank the Medway NHS Trust Commissioners for their show of goodwill and the LMC for it’s undaunting support all along the line.”

2 Comments

Filed under campaigns, Cllr John Avey, Cllr Josie Iles, conservatives, mark reckless, Marlowe Park Surgery, medway, nhs, residents, rochester, rochester and strood, strood, Strood South

2 responses to “MP welcomes Marlowe Park surgery contract extension

  1. Andrew Bowen

    Great start, thank you. Hopefully now this stupid situation can be put behind us and the PCT eventually grant Dr Juneja a longer contract to keep the surgery open for the patients and the dedicated staff who would have been unfairly made redundant. Keeping the Medical Centre open is very much in the best interest of patient care.

    Thank you to all who have supported the Medical Centre. Thank you Mark Reckless for your support.

    I am so pleased to hear that the decision to close the practice has now been overturned, a thank you to the PCT who have made the right decision for all who are involved.

    Brilliant news that makes me proud to be a local resident.

  2. Mr Colin Melvin Bailey-Peet

    Well done Mark Reckless.

    All the Paitents Dr Juneja and his Staff all in debt to you fall all the support you gave in keeping the Marlow Park Medical Surgery open Both my wife And and I am sure all ofthers would like to say a very BIG thank you
    and We hope that like us they will all give you all there support in the furture.

    Mr and Mrs C M Bailey-Peet.

Leave a Reply

